Stay-At-Home Gaming

Video Game News, Reviews and Reflection! New Articles Released Randomly Every Week!

Dishonored First Impressions


Corvo Front

Ugh. After reviewing Metal Gear Rising, I was left with a feeling of dissatisfaction. Sure it had a lot of good points, but I just couldn’t get past the little things. I wanted, to but I couldn’t (insert Godfather III quote). So I did the only sensible thing I could: I let my brother borrow Revengeance and asked him for one of his games. Dishonored is what I received.

Emily

Emily Kaldwin, daughter of the Empress

Back on October 9th, 2012 there was only one game on my mind, and that game was XCOM: Enemy Unknown. Considering it was the basis for my first article, I know it was a great purchase, though I had been hearing about this great new game called Dishonored from friends between bouts of alien annihilation. As time passed, so did my interest. I didn’t quite have the money to pick up this multiple-award winner, but after Revengeance, this is the best time for me to play a game as critically acclaimed as this. At least I know it’ll be great.

Prison

Kill or knock out? Both come with risks…

I have finished the prologue, including the prison escape, and already I see why this game is so beloved. The world is developed, the story is well paced and gathering strength, and combat… well for me it’s nonexistent. I had a bit of combat overdose in my last game, and this one has the option of playing through as a stealthy character. Although I usually play Bethesda games as a mage, a heavily armored fighter, basically the loudest, most obnoxious show of force I could be, this game told me on the loading screens that any violent actions bring consequences, like guard alertness, hungry plague rats and harder missions later on. Plus, during the tutorial, the stealth mechanics seemed decently put together and the tension of these moments added to the feeling of helplessness and guile a prisoner escape should have.

The Mark

The Outsider’s Mark, the source of your powers

I’m going to be doing two playthroughs before I review it. One stealth, the other a more “burny-burny, cut-cut” style I’m used to. Look for the full review when I finish both, which at this wonderful pace, may not be too soon. Yay money’s worth!

About RedGuinness

Andrew Shortall (RedGuinness) is the Writer, Editor, Administrator and founder of Stay-At-Home Gaming. He also suffers from sleepless nights, summer new release withdrawals and trying to behave himself in front of his new nephew.

2 comments on “Dishonored First Impressions

  1. Stephen Wolling
    March 2, 2013

    Amazing game. Great concept. I love the mystic industrial Victorian era. I can’t wait for the sequel. Highly recommend both a stealth passive knock out and a aggressive kick ass, kill every one play through. Very interesting the differences in how the two play out. Great game again, you will not be disappointed.

    • RedGuinness
      March 2, 2013

      That was totally the plan; no-kill and all-kill, maybe one more for achievements. It’s good enough that I feel I may enjoy subsequent playthroughs!

Got an opinion? Let it be heard!

Follow us on Twitter!

