Stay-At-Home Gaming

Video Game News, Reviews and Reflection! New Articles Released Randomly Every Week!

Sunshine Blogger Award-y Day!


Yeah, the reference was destroyed in the title there, but kinda works…

It’s time to respond to a message I got a few days ago… Stay-At-Home Gaming has been nominated for a Sunshine Blogger Award! Haven’t heard of the award before and it could just be a wonderful community-building exercise, but we’re gonna go with the idea that we just won an Oscar… YOU LOVE ME! YOU REALLY LOVE ME!!!

Here are the rules of the awards:

1.) Use the award logo in this post… CHECK!

SunshineFront

2. Link to the person who nominated you.

Thank you to Video Games Nebula, hope you enjoy what you read here!

 

3.) Write ten “pieces of information about myself.”

1. This blog was originally the result of a back injury and a few weeks off from work

2. I am *NOT* a morning person. I work night shifts for just that reason.

3. Earthbound was my favorite SNES, RPG, and Video Game. Ever. Not necessarily in that order.

4. I am four years old on the inside. Throw me something small, Japanese and adorable and watch.

5. I am a massive movie buff. Ask me about movies if you dare.

6. Ask me to a restaurant and I’ll order the closest thing to a burger everytime.

7. Gary Oldman is way too talented for his own good. And I think everyone should know this fact. And fear him.

8. I believe Dr. Pepper was the original Ambrosia carried by doves and drunk by the gods of Olympus.

9. I respect nothing more than an intelligent person with an open mind and opinions they’ve thought out.

10. Winter is my favorite season. Cold weather is always comfortable for me. And there are less bugs.

 

4.) Nominate ten fellow bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”

1. SubParGamers

One of the first sites I followed on WordPress, and still one of the best I read. Their articles on gaming issues, like this one on Eighth Generation Backwards Compatibility are worth everyone’s reading.

2. Girl on Game

Kimberly Scott was the first friend I made here, and Girl on Game is hers. I was extremely entertained by her series Mass Effect: I’m The Last One To The Party, though her retelling of our geek-off on Twitter was fantastic as well.

3. Kambyero

A great site written by a team of Filipinos with a uniquely intriguing point-of-view. Job Duanan’s piece titled Video Game Withdrawal Symptoms was an endless laugh that gamers will love.

4. failedwell

One of the newer blogs I read, this site will only get better as the article count grows. The “Bloggers of ‘History'” series is wonderful historical comedy, specifically the Julius Caesar entry.

5. a2shato’s Blog

I followed a Twitter friend to this site and have not been disappointed by the content. Her short spot about her shark phobia was a surprising laugh for this Shark Week observer.

6. Munky See Munky Do

I used to work with Monica, who writes this blog and I wish I had more movie convos with her when I did. As a fellow anime fan, her Akira tribute speaks volumes.

7. What’s Your Tag?

For comprehensive video game news, the first blog I hit is this one. Their coverage PS4 and Xbox One were better than what I could do, and based on their E3 Pre-Coverage, I won’t have to write that either. The comics are funny too.

8. Retro Gaming Blog

Loads of fun covering all aspects of gaming culture. From Super Nintendo cake to a Mario Kart Kinex track, you will enjoy the randomness of the articles, like the impressive Side by Side 3DS/3DS XL comparison.

9. Practicing Science

I don’t know how I found this site, but everytime I read from it, I feel a little smarter having done so. The first topic I read there on Martian Time and Future Theoretical Human Adaptation was fascinating.

10. Another Castle

This blog is really more of a community, combining geek interests like anime, video games, movies and comics all in one place. Jen’s Creepy Cosplay Thursday series is hilarious.

5.) Leave a comment on the nominees’ blogs to tell them about the award.

Done!

I know this one isn’t about gaming, but as a member of the community and someone who has enjoyed so much fantastic content, I felt it was important to take a moment and thank the people who write it and give you, the readers, a chance to enjoy it as well! Enjoy your reading and we’ll see you soon!

About RedGuinness

Andrew Shortall (RedGuinness) is the Writer, Editor, Administrator and founder of Stay-At-Home Gaming. He also suffers from sleepless nights, summer new release withdrawals and trying to behave himself in front of his new nephew.

7 comments on “Sunshine Blogger Award-y Day!

  1. a2shato
    June 5, 2013

    So, since I was given this, I also should do this.. Yeah!!

  2. mightimo20
    June 5, 2013

    woohoo! thanks a bunch! noticing your blog is centered around video games, be sure to check out my husbands blog, he himself has an avid video game blog: http://gameblorg.com/

    i know he’d appreciate some feedback from a fellow video gamer such as yourself 🙂

  3. Man Walking
    June 5, 2013

    Woot!!! More gaming/geek stuff to read when im bored at work *starts bookmarking*

    • RedGuinness
      June 5, 2013

      Appreciate it! And I wouldn’t have recommended these blogs if I didn’t think they were all fantastic (and constantly updated)!

  4. Man Walking
    June 5, 2013

    PS. Congrats !

  5. Kimberly Scott
    June 7, 2013

    Well, I don’t know if it’s against the rules, but I nominated you right back. I assume you don’t have to do anything else at this point, but I just wanted to let you know.
    http://girlongame.com/2013/06/07/two-awards-one-post-loving-the-love/

Got an opinion? Let it be heard!

Follow us on Twitter!

