Stay-At-Home Gaming

Video Game News, Reviews and Reflection! New Articles Released Randomly Every Week!

Top Five Reasons to Partake in Retro Gaming


Front

Everybody loves modern gaming consoles. And who can blame them? Top of the line graphics, the newest gaming concepts and amazing music and voice acting unthinkable in the old days are the reasons people upgrade to the newest models. With every generation, something is gained and the foundation supports another floor, so to speak. But as anyone who whips out an old console every once in a while knows, for all the advancements and improvements we see with every new game, we lose something as well, which makes every retro game we play remind us that these systems still have value.

Why do we play these old games? Find out in our Top Five Reasons to Partake in Retro Gaming!

5.) A Sense of History

Doom

If you haven’t played this…do it. Do it now.

All great things begin somewhere, and retro gamers function as entertainment historians. Before Call of Duty, there was Doom. Before Telltale Games’ The Walking Dead, there was Maniac Mansion. And before Super Mario Galaxy there was…a bunch of other Mario games, because no one ever did it better. And all those games have their influences as well. Gaming has more meaning when you can appreciate what came before. Seriously, try playing an old Lucasarts adventure game and telling me you can’t see the influence on a modern game like Walking Dead past the control scheme.

4.) Less Expensive

Bottlecaps

Retro Gaming won’t reduce you to using this as money.

Seriously, it is. Go on eBay right now and take a look. A Super Nintendo costs anywhere from $30-$90 American and usually comes with a few games in a lot. An Atari 2600 could be as low as $15 from the right seller. I don’t know why you would, but a true collector could pick up a 3DO for about $100. And even the games are inexpensive, for the most part. Your rarer games like EarthBound could set you back an average of $50, still less than a new game on a modern console, but once you start getting into lots, you could be picking up games for less than $5 each. More money in your pocket is never a bad thing.

3.) Better Multiplayer

Goldeneye

Still the best multiplayer game.

One of the advents of newer consoles was the introduction of online multiplayer modes, which allowed for connecting to a number of new enemies and allies limited only to who was on. But multiplayer on old consoles still has some advantages. First, you would both be in one place, creating new layers of interaction, trash talk and wagering. Proud to say I picked up the tab on one or two pizzas after losing rounds of ESPN National Hockey Night. Second, social interaction is easier in person than on a headset, and I’d rather high-five a buddy than just say how good the game was. Third, I always loved split screen play. Maybe it’s been instilled in me, a relic of the past, and maybe I was just skilled at screen looking (never did it), but watching same-console multiplayer practically gone in gaming today makes me sad inside.

2.) Great Games

Super Metroid

There’s a reason people STILL do Super Metroid speedruns.

A game like Borderlands might garner incredible ratings and awards, but ten, twenty years down the line, it may not be as well thought of, if it’s remembered at all. As for older games, there have been multiple console generations and libraries of titles, but some of them are still remembered, and played, for their greatness. To name a few; Asteroids, Super Mario Bros. 3, The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Super Metroid, Goldeneye 007, Sonic the Hedgehog 3, StarCraft, Red Alert 2, Civilization 2, Tetris…all of these titles are consistently on Top 100 lists of greatest games ever made for good reason. And we can personally vouch that they’re all still a blast to play, if aging graphics aren’t too much of a hassle for you.

1.) Nostalgia

Consoles

So many consoles…which one(s) was/were yours?

For younger gamers who play the video games of old, the last four reasons are for you. Pick up an old console and you’ll enjoy it (as long you play the right games; if it has a rainbow on the cartridge with the letters LJN at the bottom left, you have chosen…poorly). For those of us who grew up with these consoles, we already know their quality: nostalgia is the reason we play. We were around when having a Sega Genesis or a Super Nintendo decided who our friends and enemies were, Coins vs. Rings. We remember picking through the crappy games at the local Blockbuster until we found great games because there was no internet to find reviews on and we couldn’t afford a GamePro or Nintendo Power. We spent hours risking our eyesights on old television sets because our excitement brought us closer to the screen.

We became gamers because of these games. We play them again to regain our childhood joys for a short time when we can. From a fellow retro gamer, I salute all of you who take the time to remember where you came from. Game on.

Honorable Mention: NO LOADING TIMES!

Loading

What are some of your Retro Gaming favorites? Let us know in the comment section below!

About RedGuinness

Andrew Shortall (RedGuinness) is the Writer, Editor, Administrator and founder of Stay-At-Home Gaming. He also suffers from sleepless nights, summer new release withdrawals and trying to behave himself in front of his new nephew.

8 comments on “Top Five Reasons to Partake in Retro Gaming

  1. MissRhiosace
    September 3, 2013

    Playing Quake. It was my first ever experience of multiplayer, and it was brilliant. Playing it in the common room at school when I should have been studying.
    I didn’t know what lag was back then, even when we still had dial up internet, it ran so smooth.
    I had descent as well on my windows 3.1 computer that was brilliant, back in the days where you had to type stuff into DOS for anything to work.
    Way back when, well my first games console was an atari, followed by sega megadrive. I’ve bought a few xbox 360 versions, sonic and so forth. The new sonics are pants in comparison, I hated the new ones.
    Me and my bro ended up arguing a lot about who got to be tails and sonic in later episodes. When I was tails I’d lift him into lava and drop him on spikes, was hilarious! 😀 Streets of Rage, god that was a brilliant game. Oh and road rash, still the best motorbike game.
    Yeah retro gaming is awesome.
    I’ve never been a fan of Mario or Zelda though. I had James Pond and Sonic instead.

    • RedGuinness
      September 3, 2013

      My friends and I used to have Halo 2 LAN parties in two different rooms. Definitely helped the team dynamics.

      I got an NES when I was a kid and was a Nintendo boy up until the original Xbox came out. I love taking out old consoles and recapturing the joy gaming brought me as a kid, but I like to think I carried some of that into adulthood.

      By arguing over who would be Sonic and who would be Tails, you mean you’d argue over who would be Sonic and the other would be stuck as Tails, right? Lol that’s always how I heard it from Sega diehards!

      • MissRhiosace
        September 3, 2013

        Yeah thats right, tails was not cool apparently. Thats why they created that knuckles disaster. Thats when I stopped playing sonic. Haha we were just kids, in fact it was my brother that got me gaming again as an adult. We played Black Ops 1 multiplayer and I was hooked. Love that game still, just for that.
        Now though, I seem to have switched back to single player games, except Borderlands. No gamer is an Island? Sometimes it’s nice to be an Island. Lol. Xbox is awesome.
        I like some of the emulators out there for playing retro games. I should get back into playing oldies while I can, doubt they’d release any for xbox one lol, theres quite a lot of old games on Xbox. I saw Toe Jam and Earl on xbox live marketplace I almost bought it haha. My little one is a big nintendo fan, she prefers mario over sonic on her DS 😀

      • RedGuinness
        September 3, 2013

        After my modem shot out I’ve been playing singleplayer exclusively and I rarely miss multiplayer. It’s nice to only have yourself to blame for screwing up, but I miss when my buddies would join a CoD match together. Six players flying H1N1 as tags on the same team made me feel unstoppable!

        As for retro games, I tend to just grab the old systems out. Something about playing it on the system a game came out on seems right.

  2. Kimberly Scott
    September 5, 2013

    Goldeneye was my first multiplayer gaming experience and as I’m sure you know, an epically classic game. I had to give up my old systems a while ago because of space constraints, and longer than that ago, my super nintendo was stolen. I would have never gotten rid of my super nintendo. I really want it back and I’m seriously considering buying one. It was my first system, and I think will always be my favorite no matter what. Although playing Starfox on N64 was a life changing experience.
    Great article dude.

    • RedGuinness
      September 6, 2013

      Pick up an SNES. It’s a great life decision! I hate it when consoles disappear like that. My first NES also disappeared but I picked up a cheap top loader and it was the best decision I ever made.

      Goldeneye, by the way, is the best multiplayer on the system. And still one of my favorite games.

  3. lucyfalls
    September 8, 2013

    Love this post. I recently wrote about my feelings on retro gaming (NES specifically), and how I feel like for me at least, these classic games are slipping away. You brought up some points I hadn’t considered; I definitely agree with you about couch co-op being far superior to online multiplayer. I would add that many older games are much more challenging than modern games. (Don’t get me started on the easiest game series ever made, Borderlands).

    It’s always nice to be reminded that there are people out there who want to keep classic gaming alive.

    • RedGuinness
      September 10, 2013

      We’re glad you liked it! I’ve just been introduced to a Retro Gaming community on Twitter (#GamersUnite, #RetroUnite) and it’s amazing to see so many welcoming and fun people keeping the old ways alive!

      I’m a little ashamed I forgot the difficulty advantage. Although most of the games I play currently are gone through on the highest difficulty, and XCOM: Enemy Unknown is one of the hardest games I’ve ever played (the second highest difficulty, Classic, lives up to its name and Ironman is vicious in its turn by turn saving), there’s nothing like the legitimate “harsh, but fair” difficulty of any classic NES game by comparison. Especially to Borderlands!

Got an opinion? Let it be heard!

Follow us on Twitter!

