Stay-At-Home Gaming

Video Game News, Reviews and Reflection! New Articles Released Randomly Every Week!

Week in Review: 6/14/14


Welcome to a post-E3 Week in Review!

E3 was an exciting three days (why can’t it be longer?) but now comes that dreadful anticipation for all that awesome stuff to come out.

You’ll be hearing about all that in the weeks and months leading up to their release. In the meantime, here are some great articles to read from last week!

Call of Maybe

20140618-122249-44569412.jpg

Very few series can stay as prominent as they are in their prime. Final Fantasy has been on a downward spiral since the PS1 days, Resident Evil peaked at 4 and the MGS series will never be the same with Kiefer Sutherland as the voice of Snake. CoD may just be the most familiar one, but like PoorMansGeek, I’m holding out a bit of hope. Here’s his impressions piece.

CoD:AW E3 Impressions

Conference: E3

20140617-225440-82480063.jpg

Dusty Cartridge is one of the first sites I followed when I joined WordPress, and they are still one of the best. If I ever find myself in Australia, and I hope to, I want to buy these folks a beer. They also happen to have done an excellent analysis of the Microsoft and Sony conferences!

Microsoft E3 Impressions

We’re Still Having This Problem?

20140617-225440-82480099.jpg

I’d like to welcome Stay-At-Home Gaming’s 200th Follower, GeekynGirly! I’d also like to posit a question to some gamers: are we really still bullying people in games? I get trash talk, I honestly do, it’s a part of the competitive spirit I don’t subscribe to, but there are limits, and group chat bullying is lightyears past the line. Grow up and learn some decency, guys. Part two of a series.

Prejudice in Geekdom Part 2

The Language of Games

20140618-122249-44569288.jpg

Yep, couldn’t come up with anything more clever than the article title. When I used to introduce my friends to games, I’d always wonder why it was so hard for them to pick up on things. And this piece makes me see how wrong I was to wonder.

I’m hoping this is the first of many such inspired articles from The Credible Hulk.

The Language of Games Pt 1

If you love these articles, be sure to like the page and comment on it. Let them know you love their writing. And if you like the selection of articles, be sure to drop a comment here!

About RedGuinness

Andrew Shortall (RedGuinness) is the Writer, Editor, Administrator and founder of Stay-At-Home Gaming. He also suffers from sleepless nights, summer new release withdrawals and trying to behave himself in front of his new nephew.

4 comments on “Week in Review: 6/14/14

  1. MissRhiosace
    June 18, 2014

    I was a witness to some bullying on Xbox Live. Some kid had tried to add me as a friend, and by doing so, even though I didn’t accept his request, that meant I was on his friends list when he used the app “Message 2 All Friends”. He, everyday, seemed intent on bullying another member of his friends list by sending messages to all of his friends. It started off as banter and “gay” and whatever, but it quickly got terribly nasty. Anyway, it saddened me, and I reported it, but I think a lot of it is due to the age of kids that game. In my opinion they shouldn’t be gaming unsupervised at a young age, same reason I think Facebook should be stricter with their age limits. It’s obvious a lot of parents are not doing their jobs properly, I’d never let my little one game unsupervised, I join in with her, and I think at 9, she’s way too young to be messaging/playing with strangers.
    This kid was obviously near the same age as my little one, and he was playing CoD and GTA V.

    • RedGuinness
      June 19, 2014

      I’m terrified by what online gaming will be like when I have a kid. Two things need to change by that point: reports need to be taken more seriously by Moderators and activating an account needs parental input. I’m ok getting a phone call that explains parental controls on the console and warning me of the things my kid can hear.

      • MissRhiosace
        June 20, 2014

        Xbox live requires parental information to set up a child account, but it requires your credit card information!! A child entering his true date of birth couldn’t make an account without a parents, but it’s probably easy to cheat. When you do set up a child account legit, there are warning messages about online play and how it should be supervised and explains why child accounts are automatically blocked to play online and has to be unlocked by a parent.
        Thing is though, to play split screen on minecraft for some reason, requires the child account to be an online account, so I had to remove those blocks. It does need to be improved, a lot!

      • RedGuinness
        June 20, 2014

        When I was a kid I’d count years from my birthday until I was 19, and more than enough friends either knew where the credit card was or their parents only cared about the amount of money it would cost and handed it over.

        Granted it’s an American viewpoint, but kids are getting sneakier!

Got an opinion? Let it be heard!

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2014 by in Site Updates, Week in Review and tagged , , , .

Follow us on Twitter!

